The Truth Behind The Models We See

Normally body image isn’t my main beat and I instead focus on writing about my time in college and the things that I learn as I go along and grow.  However, I saw this video last week and felt that I couldn’t not say something about it.

I’ve seen this time lapse video all over social media and on various news sites as well.

It’s sad to see that this is what the media feels is right to portray to women and girls.  I think I can speak for many of us when I say that the images we see in the media do have an affect on us whether we admit it or not.

These images of “perfect” women make us second guess our own appearances.

Am I too fat?

Am I too skinny?

Is my nose too too big?

Is my butt too small?

The self doubt goes on and on.

Why is it that these women that we look up to, that society thinks of as beautiful aren’t even being shown in their true form?  Look at this list of different photoshopped celebrities for instance.

We’re already fans of their work so why does the media feel that they need to be touched up before we see these posed images.  What about just letting us see them as they are so that we can acknowledge that they have flaws just like us but they don’t let their flaws define who they are or the success that they achieve.

There’s enough problems in this world without what makes the “perfect” women being one of them.

It’s ok for us to be different shapes and sizes, it’s part of what makes us unique.

small-cartoon-online6

Leave a Reply

