Power in Social Media

socialmedialogos

“I think it’s a huge statement about social media for one person to actually have the ability to broadcast to as many people as a major media network.”

-Ashton Kutcher

Recently I’ve been working on a paper about social media and its effect on PR as part of the work I have to complete to receive credit for my summer internship. As I was researching information for my paper I came across the quote above and while it doesn’t really have a good place in my paper I really do like what it has to say.  Why?  Because there’s a lot of truth in it in my opinion.  Think about all the doors that social media has opened in the world of communication,  if social media didn’t exist as it does then you wouldn’t be reading this right now.

Social media has allowed the average person like you or I  to reach out and touch the lives of anyone in the world willing to listen.  Social media gives our voices more power than ever before.

Stop and think for a moment.

How much of your life as you know it right now would change if social media was suddenly gone?  How many photos, stories, songs and more wouldn’t be shared?

Exactly.  Social media, though not around long, is already very ingrained in society.

Now think of everything that social media allows you access to, all the opportunities to find unique information and also the ability to share whatever you want with the world. You can share the beauty of a photograph you’ve taken, the emotion in words you’ve written, the knowledge you’ve gained in the kitchen and so much more.  The possibilities are endless.

Leave a Reply

