Friendship: You Have to Want It

friendship

I finally got the chance to hang out with my childhood best friend for the first time in couples months the other day.  Despite the time apart however, we are still as close as ever.  We’ve known each other since we were 8 years old or for 12 years this fall.  The two of us are pretty much like sisters, we’ve been through a lot of ups and downs in life but we’ve been through them all together.  But, that’s not why I’m writing about our friendship today.  I’m writing about it because we’ve been long distance friends for most of our lives and I think that our friendship is proof of the great things that can happen when you work for something that you want.

As I said before, my best friend, Bekka, and I have known each other for 12 years and for 9 of those years we’ve been long distance friends.  Maybe something that doesn’t seem like a great accomplishment to some, but considering that we became long distance friends at age 11 I’d say it is.  I still remember being told by my parents that I couldn’t expect for our friendship to last when she moved because it’s hard to be that far apart and keep a good relationship.  Her parents told her the same thing.  Instead of accepting it though we instead decided that we were going to prove them wrong; not because we were trying to be stubborn children, but because we didn’t want to lose our best friend because of events that were outside of our control.

Why am I telling you this?  I’m telling you this because if two little girls can make a long distance friendship work then you can make your own long distance relationships work whether it’s with a friend, family member or significant other.  In fact, our friendship is proof of how you can make anything happen in your life if you really want it; all it takes is desire and determination.  I think people sometimes forget that the best things in life are the things that we work for.  Especially in the case of a relationship.  One of the reasons that I think that Bekka and I are still closer than ever is because we both know how important we are to each other because if we weren’t, one of us would have given up on our friendship a long time ago.

Next time you think something is too hard and feel like giving up, think about how you’re going to feel down the road looking back on you decision.  If it’s something that you want to be around five, ten or twenty years down the line like Bekka and I did, then work for it.

2 thoughts on “Friendship: You Have to Want It

Leave a Reply

