Home Is Where the Heart Is

19434_108655959148862_5869863_n

I cannot put into words how awesome it has been to be back at home.  While I enjoyed college it is incredibly difficult to be so far away from my friends and family and left with no easy ways to see them.  Now that I’m home I’ve been able to spend time with so many people who mean so much to me and that I saw maybe once or twice within the eight months school was in session.  I still feel like I haven’t been able to see everyone I’ve wanted to yet.  It has certainly taught me to not take them for granted.

It’s great being back with my family.  I get to actually see them more than just a couple times a week on a computer screen.  I don’t think that I truly knew what homesickness was until this past year.  It’s a lot harder than people realize to be that far away from your family.  Home is definitely where the heart is and I learned that I left quite a bit of my heart in North when I left for school.

I have been able to see my “sister” Bekka and her family; aka my family too.  They have been a part of my life for so long that it was strange having them not be a part of my life on a regular basis as they used to be.  If any of you are reading this I hope you all know how much you mean to me.

I’ve had the chance to spend time with Angela just like when we were in high school.  Her friendship was my saving grace then and it still is now.  It was hard not seeing her everyday and now I can see her and spend time with her again instead of just texting her.

I also have my old job back.  That was a blessing I wasn’t expecting this summer.  I figured that I would come home and spend endless hours filling out applications for a job in retail.  Instead I was offered to work at the dentist office again this summer.  It’s great being back working with everyone there!  They have all become a part of my family and to see them again is awesome.

Even with all the awesome things that come with being home there  is the undeniable drawback of missing my friends from school.  I know though that no matter what, if the bond we made at school was strong enough then the summer shouldn’t change anything.  Plus, I’ve got some tentative plans to visit with one that’s got me wicked excited.

This past year has caused me to have a lot more North pride than I had when I left.  It’s true when they say, you don’t appreciate what you have till it’s gone.  While there are certainly aspects of my hometown that I will always view in certain ways there are others that I’ve come to look at in a different light.  I am proud of where I come from.  I am a tough New England girl who grew up in the best area in the world.  I have the mountains, the beach, so many different cultures, easy access to one of  the best cities and some of the best sports teams in the country all while being surrounded by some great people.  What more can a girl ask for?

Leave a Reply

